The Mirror Cracked From Side To Side: Book Review

16372

picture credits- http://www.goodreads.com

 

The mirror cracked from side to side is the first I read of Agatha Christie. Not being much of a mystery reader I was reading it with not much engrossment to be honest. However I was quite astonished as the novel was approaching its end. The plot is extremely compelling and the beauty of the language adds icing to the cake. The writer has done a brilliant work. As a reader I had never before felt so much involved. This murder mystery will allow you to freely have your own suspicions and act detective to the best of your faculties.

Knitted with the murder mystery plot are high dozes of love, obsession, heartbreak and scandals of the cinematic world. Miss Marple is the central character who solves the mystery skillfully by observing things from an angle which most of us would easily turn blind eye to. Half way through the book I was getting kind of impatient and confused. However it was worth the wait. When the mystery was finally enfolded in the end by none other than Miss Marple, that too in a way so well crafted and deviceful my heart leapt with joy.

Speaking of the characters that the plot revolves around, Marina Gregg is a famous and  temperamental movie star who throws a party at her new residence at Gossington Hall in St. Mary Mead, where the unfortunate incident takes place. One of her biggest fans of the locality Mrs Badcock dies in the party leaving no clues for the investigators. Almost everyone( the reader is no exception ) thinks that the poisoned drink had been intended to kill the celebrity Marina, but is mistakenly drowned by her guest fan leading to her spot death. But you will be astonished to find out what actually happened that glittery night. Christie has very well crafted the plot so as to confuse you by tying up the bunch of suspects with numerous strings, badly entangled. Enough to make you restless at points.

Seen with a frozen look while talking to Mrs Badcock in the party, Marina raises questions in the minds of the snoopers. It is a look that is compared to that of the Lady of Shalott, as though “doom has come upon her”. A poem of dear Lord Tennyson’s.

Quoting a few lines…

‘The mirror crack’d from side to side;

“The curse is come upon me”, cried

The Lady of Shalott.’

Now I know the reason behind the fame that is associated with Agatha Christie. Having not been able to surmise who actually could have been the murderer right to the end, I would say that the book has very well achieved its purpose. And now I guess I am soon gonna turn into a sucker of mysteries.  Murder mysteries have got to be mind-boggling. Go on readers. Find your own treats. I’m off to find some more for me 😉

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on April 9, 2016, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Super like 🙂 Awaiting more such write ups!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alqamah Shahid

    This is what Agatha is known for.’Queen of Crime Thrillers’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You make me feel like picking up an Agatha Christie once again. Gosh, it’s been so long. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. its been a long time I read Agatha Christie…time to get mystery reading back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rationalraj2000

    Good that you discovered Agatha Christie! Yes, is the queen of such fiction.

    Like

  6. I used to love reading Agatha Christie; your post bought back a number of fond memories.

    Like

Leave a comment