Diary of a Wimpy Kid

diary-of-a-wimpy-kid

picture credits- thewrap.com

Missing those carefree days of childhood? Missing those endless adventures and the inimitable fun? Well, you are just one decision away from reliving those moments. Whether or not you care, that overshadowed kid within you has secretly treasured all those priceless memories, hoping that some day you may want to go through those dusty files. Believe me my friend, there is no better time than NOW. Move out of the confines of those concrete walls of your office, and start walking down that memory lane. Go to a nearby kids park, get rid of your shoes, loosen your tie and just sit somewhere you can hear those innocent giggles and laughter. Hear those happy kids. Watch them run and fall and laugh. Far away from the humdrum of the world of adults, let the peace you feel around the kids seep in.

Well now that you might be wanderingΒ  about the title of this post, I better get toΒ  the point about what exactly made me all nostalgic and reminisce my childhood days. I was visiting my sister’s place and she had these 7 books stacked together, resting peacefully on her table. We are often told not to judge a book by it’s cover but I won’t deny that I have a thing for colorful children’s books. When I asked her about them she told me that she bought them to gift to one of our cousins. And hence I was even more inclined to drink in their contents before it was time to part.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney has won millions of young and old hearts worldwide and after just 3 years of its publishing, it was recorded that it had 20 million online readers and had an average of 70,000 readers per day.

Having the similar habit myself, I could well relate to Greg. Unlike the present generation kids whose favorite play things are tablets and play stations, we the kids of 90’s were given drawing kits having crayons, sketch-pens, markers, color pencils, water-color tubes, glitters and so on. To create one’s own cartoon characters and getting them to talk through comic strips was a craze back then. As I leafed through the pages of these amazingly innocent and playful books, all my own childhood memories came flooding back.

Childhood is undoubtedly the best phase of one’s life. There is no such thing as pretending, manipulating, stressing out and faking smiles. Childhood friendships have a complete different meaning. Greg and Rowley fight at times, but patch up in quite funny yet touchy ways. I loved the way Greg has illustrated the life of every kid in general with the help of pictures that will make you laugh until your stomach hurts. It would definitely make you appreciate and applaud not just the creativity of the author but also the creativity that is undoubtedly every child’s forte.

Feel like going back in time and have some real fun? Well here you go:-

  1. Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  2. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules
  3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw
  4. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days
  5. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth
  6. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Cabin Fever
  7. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel
Diary-of-a-wimpy-kid-fb-cover-photo

ppicture credits- fbhdcover.com

Remember, you are never too old to pick a children’s book. Go ahead. Happy reading πŸ™‚

 

 

Save

Save

Save

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on August 28, 2016, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Love these books. Childhood truly is an amazing journey!
    You are just so carefree and enjoy the little moments of fun.
    We just need to keep the child within us alive πŸ™‚
    Richa | Fancier’s World

    Like

  2. well penned…gonna read this children’s book πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. That definitely looks worth buying! Would sure buy it for son and thereby having a chance to read them as well.. πŸ™‚ I need to just wait a while more.. πŸ™‚ Thank you for posting this.. πŸ™‚ I have book marked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

