An apology

girl writes a letter

image credits- hellogiggles.com

I speak of the unintended separation.

The void consuming every little trace of happiness left.

Grieving the hollow self,

Of elation, mirth and hope bereft.

 

Surrounded by intelligent machines,

I somehow forgot the human within.

Denied myself the joie-de-vivere

and myriad of emotions you taught me to gloat in.

 

Staring into blank sheets all night,

drowning in nostalgia and dreadful emptiness.

I would feel like bleeding out on the paper

and pour all I felt, enveloped in the harrowing darkness.

 

No doubt the sheets remained empty

reminding me it was half a year back I casually brushed off

the fact that I was fine with getting the sensuality we shared

from my pristine heart being forever stripped off.

 

I would trade my soul for the good old days,

when we would so effortlessly ignore the world.

Spending hours in the lap of nature, entangled with each other,

watching closely as the magic unfurled.

 

It was a delusion that I could survive

sans the guiltless pleasures you brought.

None to be blamed but my ignorant self,

for even conceding the idiotic thought.

 

Now I know you are a fragile little thing,

that demands fierce love, madness and obsession.

I promise to feed you even if I’m starving.

and even when I’m sick, I would nurse you with caution.

 

I’ve watched my heart shatter into countless pieces

and now that I’ve picked each one of them

I place them in your caring hands

hoping you would rescue it from the mayhem.

 

Dying countless deaths in a single day,

trying to fit in with humans, which will forever remain a fallacy

I officially declare that I can’t live without you,

Oh beloved, Poetry!

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on September 30, 2017, in Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. “Oh beloved, Poetry!” – Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After a long time …. n a nice poem for your blog(AN APOLOGY)

    Like

  3. Nicely penned,Lovely poem Rajeshawri-G

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

