The Bibliophile

black-and-white-book-girl-old-photography-Favim.com-188660

picture courtesy- favim.com

How could I ever turn disloyal,

when the love we share is meant to be eternal?

I’ve always been yours to elate,

for nothing compares to the way you unashamedly satiate.

Perhaps you are annoyed for I haven’t composed a sonnet for you,

but regardless of that my feelings are nothing but true.

I promise to write endless poesies at your praise,

setting my turmoil and reticence ablaze.

Your first stare pierced right through my heart,

claiming my brain and soul from the very start.

Your sultry touch burning into my skin,

mixing with the blood and rushing through my veins akin.

Fondling my senses with recherche passion,

professing me as yours with mutual discretion.

Humans with their plasticity seem to me like statues of wax

and soulfulness is what the appeal in them lacks.

And hence I’m all yours to devour,

since you have allowed me to feel your soul beyond the contour.

You will remain the only one who will ever have the right

to impart pleasure or pain to me with all your might.

With every passing day I feel our kinship flourishing,

your grip on my soul ever so slightly tightening.

I wish to live a thousand lives with you,

sharing our grief and mirth like we always do.

Waking up each day to your warm embrace

while my fingers travel promptly through every leaf they trace.

You are the drug that keeps me alive,

and despite of ceaseless brutal attempts of humans I strive.

They say I should disentangle myself from your tenacious grasp,

but little do they know that nothing in the world can loosen your clasp.

I want you to be my only worshiped obsession,

traveling the world together with elation.

Nearing the end of my life lying on my deathbed I would bless

and ask you for the promise to comfort another equally needy damsel in distress.

Save

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on August 27, 2016, in Random ramblings. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice poem. Loved the word play ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. This one is the best of whatever I’ve read so far on your blog, by miles. You are certainly a poet in making. If you make the reader feel your words, that’s writing. Beautiful. Keep writing and this goes without saying ‘we’ll keep reading’ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

