I am just a child!

emaze

picture credits- http://www.emaze.com

I wake up each day with the hope to live,

to play, to laugh and be a child.

But a sudden blow on my head pulls me back to reality,

an ugly overweight man dragging me by my arm,

calling me by spiteful names

trying his best to make me feel worthless and senile.

A burden on earth he calls me

and whips me every now and then

for he doesn’t want me to ever forget

that I don’t deserve a childhood

since my life was condemned by poverty and crippled parents.

With not just a starving body

but a starving and silently sobbing soul

I muster the courage to keep working

for I still am filled with HOPE.

They may beat me up as much as they want,

they may even try to starve me to death.

They may kick my heart will all their might,

crush my confidence and compliance.

They may threaten to torture my body in the worst ways possible

pumping fear into every nerve and blood-cell.

But what they can’t do is take away my hope

or take away my dreams,

or get into my head for stealing my positiveness

or my grit and dignity that I keep fueling each day.

My eyes may seem sunken for they have been crying,

my heart beats a bit faster for it is frenzied with the fear

of being ripped out any moment without prior warning.

My body is nothing but a skeleton

covered in a modest layer of skin,

feeding on hope and will-power

rather than the expensive nutrients and supplements

that the other kids are consuming.

Despite the dangerous working conditions I have no fear of death

for my life itself has shown me the worst things possible

grinding me to the apex of tolerance and sufferance.

My eyes might have adjusted themselves to the darkness,

but in my dreams I still bathe in light.

Despite whatever I am compelled to face each day,

I still imagine walking towards the end of a tunnel

where my life would be flooded suddenly with happiness and light.

All I can do is hope.

I can not fight with them for the childhood I deserve

for they would pin me down and muffle my screams

and I would not be able to protect myself,

for I AM JUST A CHILD!

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on January 29, 2016, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Superb
    Masterpiece
    U just Craving ur name in a golden stone

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well expressed and a beautiful write on the burning issue of today…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have no words to describe how poignantly you have shown the plight of a poor child.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well penned… πŸ™‚ you’ve expressed the emotions of a child wonderfully. Nobody has the right to take away anyone’s childhood…

    Like

Leave a Reply

