The Winter Solstice

picture credits- favim.com

picture credits- favim.com

As I open my arms in the dark hours of winter solstice

I feel the cold hands of death brushing over my sensitive skin

gripping me tighter and tighter while my emotions freeze

denying me the basic right to fight for life while scorning my spleen.

Turning a blind eye to the paleness of my body

it keeps cuddling my frightened soul.

Laughing on the exactness of my life’s parody

death never ceases to highlight the trademark of its role.

Turning deaf ears to my muffled screams

it keeps tapping on my riven heart

watching me so helpless its appearance gleams

promising to slice every fragment of my frame apart.

After an endless struggle against the dominance of death

I finally seem to let go the fear it had instilled.

And as I am counting my final breath

I see myself at peace and my favorite longing finally fulfilled!

 

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on January 13, 2016, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. well i don’t know what to utter
    buddy its simply prodigious
    keep writing and keep on amazing people.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you. Keep visiting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A good poem about the pains of the freezing season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

