Book Review for ‘An Isolated Incident’ by Soniah Kamal

Just to say that I loved this novel would be an understatement.Half way through the novel I felt as if I was reading Khaled Hosseini. I have always appreciated intense writing but believe me when I say this was different. Having touched upon numerous sensitive human issues Soniah has very intelligently weaved the words into a lyrical masterpiece. From the moment I started reading it I was captivated by some magic spell. The reader would not be at peace unless the book is finished in one sitting. It is that engaging. And long after you are done it will be lingering somewhere deep inside you, asking you questions, escalating conflict and forcing you to ponder over the issues cited in this book through a story that is undoubtedly the reality of lakhs of people languishing over parting from their loved ones, permanent loss of family and friends in wars and the dirty games of politics. This book has amazingly explored the issues of global concern as well as the inner torments of both young and old; all characters fighting their own battle. It brings cognizance to the plight of people still perplexed about their origin and history. It has delineated the picture of Kashmir in a way that would surely make the reader wish to know more about it, meet the people of this place, embrace the culture of this land. Laced with tragedies, haunting memories and unending misery this book will show you that even hope as small as a mustard seed can move mountains. Happy reading!

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on July 27, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow! That’s a pretty great recommendation! Will pick this one up soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

