A FULL-STOP TO MY QUEST FOR HUMANITY!

( I wrote this post to express my deepest remorse and heartache regarding the heart wrenching massacre of Tuesday, Dec. 16, 2014 in which about 132 innocent school children were mercilessly murdered at Army Public school in Peshawar, Pakistan.The Taliban gunmen have given us all a reason strong enough to question whether they are even humans.For a country already weary of never ending terrorist attacks it was like applying a salt-spread on fresh wounds.May the almighty put some fear in the hearts of these cold-blooded beasts. And may those little angels rest in peace.)

With hopes dashed,

Promises crushed,

Dreams shattered into fragments

Little souls tormented by fears

Have left the sadistic earth,

Uncertain whether they wish for rebirth

For the world seems not to change.

Nursing its animosity and hatred for the mankind

The world is headed well on its way towards doom,

And in its meaningless war of religion and politics

It has forgotten the sacredness and beauty of humanity,

To undoubtedly perish in the days to come.

Those little souls were the most precious gifts of nature,

Yet they were brutally burned

In the fire of the spleen of those barbarous monsters.

Even millions of prayers and apologies

Are not enough to bring them back

For they are gone forever,

Never to return.

What remains is just their blooded footprints on the sands of time.

They were supposed to live, learn and explore

Yet they have been sent to the lifeless pages of history.

However I am glad that the world put me out of my illusion

And I can already put a full-stop to my quest for humanity.

For the world never seems to get tired of giving

instances of its brutality.

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on July 27, 2015, in Social Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It was indeed one of the most tragic incidents of the recent times. The emotions in the poem were raw and genuine, and very well put. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for appreciating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

