The Tempest Queen

picture credit-hdwpics.com

picture credit-hdwpics.com

Sympathizing over her broken appearance,

torn sails,

falling masts,

they ask her whether she regrets her battle with the tempest

and with a mirthless smile she replies

I am rather glad for the encounter,

for it made me stronger and more valiant.

Ephemeral was my dread and abhorrence

however ageless and eternal is my experience.

I have been trounced by mighty thunder bolts,

continually whipped by the merciless wind,

despite carrying a ravaged soul

I managed to keep myself warm

from the fire burning deep within.

I have tasted the water of seas worldwide,

have witnessed flashes of both hell and heaven

while adoring the revelations of the earth sublime.

Equally astounded by the viciousness of beasts in human masks

and beauty of the lands divine.

It was not my recklessness,

rather my ardor.

Others may say that it was not worth the price i paid

but that does not change the truth

that ships are not built to be held back

safe in the harbor.

Fragile, tenderfoot and a wimp was I

before i fearlessly sailed on the voyage of my life

and now as they see me

they say here goes the ‘Tempest Queen’

whom neither death can menace

nor fate can surprise.

About SK Rajeshwari

I am an incurable bibliophile, dreamer, writer, poet and connoisseur of all things beautiful. This blog 'My Cosmos' is my first love and nothing pleases me more than constructive feedback for my write-ups. My second love is books. I am an insatiable and roly-poly bookworm. Books teach me how to explore the world inside me and the ones that are outcomes of someone else's unadulterated imagination. What beautifies my existence is the endless walk I enjoy putting on those shoes of imagination. Step into my world, feel my poems and allow your wandering soul to be hypnotized by the fragrance of the captivating manifestations of my dreams, experiences and imagination. Allow this feeling to creep into your being and let your nerves speak the language of beauty and artistry. Bienvenido :)

Posted on July 23, 2015, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. A very Beautiful presentation of words.Words are thoughtfully chosen and presented.As a reader it has filled me with great strength to face the battles that life ahead has for me.As said by a great man “The thing which does not kill you only makes you stronger”. And as you said people will say” here goes the ‘Tempest Queen’ whom neither death can menace nor fate can surprise”..that sounds really inspiring. God bless You!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Tempest Queen, mighty ship or valiant woman? A metaphorical piece I assume.

    Like

  3. Wow! Profound and deep. The metaphors are brilliant and the tone very inspiring. Overall, the poem leaves one feeling ready to take on life’s challenges with gusto. Keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks a lot for your appreciation 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

